10Asia Interview with Actor Lee Hyun Woo – Part 2


Q: If you were accepted into Cheonha University, what would you like to major in?

Lee: Me? I would.. um.. not natural sciences but I am not the liberal arts type person either. I want to do something like sports… I would rather major in music or art rather than be a theater and acting major.

Q: The reason I asked the above question is because I am curious about the many dreams that 18-year-old Hyun-woo might have — you have a lot of potential in many areas outside acting too.

Lee: I thought a lot about whether I would apply to the department of theater and acting or to a different department. But I had pursued acting and then realized one day that I’m already 18 and haven’t had much time to do anything else. So it’s highly likely that I would major in theater and acting but I don’t know yet. If I learn to do something else that I am interested in, I might head into that direction. I like to learn how to do new things so if what I learned suits me, I could choose that path or I could show that through my acting.

Q: So you are saying that you could broaden your scope of acting by learning and knowing many different things. Then when you are establishing the character for a role, do you take note of someone else’s acting or do you bring out a certain side to you from within yourself?

Lee: I actually have not seen “Dragon Zakura”, which is the original piece for “Master of Study“. If I had seen the actor who played the character of Hong Chan-doo from it, my acting might have been different. But I put on my own style of acting in this drama and have with other ones as well.

Q: The maturity we see in your character from KBS TV series “The Great King Sejong” and the charm of Chan-doo from “Master of Study” are very different — hard to say they came from a single person, to be honest.

Lee: “The Great King Sejong” was my first traditional drama and I did not know anything back then, really. So the director helped me a lot by coaching me one-on-one. I think I was able to pull off roles in other traditional dramas afterwards, thanks to that experience. When I do traditional dramas, I do the kind of acting that is necessary for that. There is such a thing as different types of acting for different genres.

Credits to : God of Study WordPress Site

Reporter : Wee Geun-woo eight@10asia.co.kr

Photographer : Chae ki-won ten@10asia.co.kr

Editor : Lynn Kim lynn2878@asiae.co.kr, Lee Ji-hyeseven@10asia.co.kr

ⓒ10Asia All rights reserved

SOURCE: Hancinema.net

Leave a Reply

